Goals: An Update

I’ve always loved reading my horoscope.

Somewhere along the way, I realized that the thing about tarot card readings and horoscopes was that you could almost always fit your current life situation into their vague predictions.  I’ve never been to a psychic, but I imagine it’s the same way.  And although I don’t base my days on what it says next to Pisces in the morning paper, every now and then you get a badass horoscope that pumps you up.

Like yesterday when I read my horoscope for the month of September:

“A new and exciting adventurous phase is about to start for you powered by a dreamy Neptune in Pisces at opposition with Virgo. It could be your career, love life or travel. Which ever it is, this is going to be the making of you so sit back and enjoy the ride.”

I’ll take it!

So, while I start this new and exciting adventure, I figured I’d offer up a little update to my Goals post a few months ago.

music goalsI am happy to report that I hit my three month mark on August 6 and was extremely satisfied with my goal progress.

Here’s how it worked out:

6 original songs written & learned on the guitar – check!

6 cover songs learned on the guitar – check!

Comfortable doing a 2 song open mic alone – oh definitely.

Open mic once a week – we kind of run Bar Pico on Tuesday nights now…

15 songs on my YouTube channel – I fell 2 short here.  Still, I’m ok with it.

blue shirt with taylor guitar

Not to toot my own horn, but I am super proud of myself.  If you remember at the beginning of the year, I was determined to focus on the things that really matter to me.  It’s not that I’m scatter-brained or ADD or anything, I just had so many projects that I was trying to succeed at and I wasn’t focusing enough energy on any one thing to get to the next level.  And then I realized that the thing suffering the most was the thing that meant the most to me – my music.

The one aspect of these goals that I am most proud of is how far I have come on the guitar.  I still have so much to learn, but just the fact that I can sit down with a melody in my head and figure out the chords that I want with it still amazes me.  It’s this magical process that gives me so much joy every time I do it.  And the fact that I can just pull out my guitar and accompany myself whenever I feel like it is so liberating.  I look forward to collaborating with other  talented musicians in the near future, but it’s so freeing and relaxing to know I can make music all on my own, also.

with taylor guitar

So now onto phase two.  Which brings me back to that horoscope.

“A new and exciting adventurous phase is about to start for you powered by a dreamy Neptune in Pisces at opposition with Virgo. It could be your career, love life or travel. Which ever it is, this is going to be the making of you so sit back and enjoy the ride.”

I spent a lot of August putting together Pinterest boards and inspiration boards and really trying to figure out how I wanted to present myself and my music.  I was trying to figure out who I saw myself as, and how other people saw me.

It sounds like something I should already know, but it reminded me of this exercise we did in high school drama where you had to play yourself in a skit.  How the heck do I play myself??  What is typical of me to say?  Where do I put my hands?  How do I react to things?  How do I talk?

How the heck do I play myself??

So this month, not only am I working on getting a few of my songs recorded in some form, but I have bought the domain for my music website (kellymathewsmusic.com – coming soon!), and I have a photo shoot set up with two of my very talented friends this week.  All of this is also known in my horoscope as the making of me.  

65 more days until November 6th.  1 awesome horoscope to give me a little boost to keep at it.  I’ll keep you updated.

Here we go!

xoxo

5 thoughts on “Goals: An Update

  1. Don’t ever stop!! Just the encouragement I needed to get my butt going… back to an essay on the controversies of modern genomics (I know, right?) Enjoy the process 🙂

  2. Kelly, you have definitely inspired me to write down and work to accomplish my own goals! Side note: my best friend is a graphic designer (digital or print) if you’re ever in need of one!

    • Happy to be inspiration! I’ve never written down my goals like this before, and its really been great to have something in writing to look back at every now and then. Even if they change a little over the 9 months or I don’t accomplish every goal exactly the way I planned, I like having something to keep me accountable. Oh, and I may be in touch about your friend! Gotta get this website up and running!

  3. Pingback: 2014: From Focus to Action | The Key Of Kels

Leave a Reply

